Soft, and Close Your Eyes

a lullaby

Close your eyes and rest, my child
Let this song surround you
Let me weave a quilt of words
Soft and warm around you.

Daylight’s final drop is poured
Drink, to soothe your crying
May it sweeten all your dreams
Pure and satisfying.

The wind may weep between the trees
The wolf may mourn beneath the skies

Don’t listen to the wind, my child
Don’t listen to the wolf, my child
Hear my song and dream, my child
Soft, and close your eyes.

Close your eyes; forget, my child
Every tear and sorrow
Though the night is overlong
Morning comes tomorrow.

Gold will touch the noble trees
Every leaf a-gleaming
Morning is the world made new
Night is made for dreaming.

A chill may creep beneath the door
A storm may loom beyond the rise

Don’t fret about the cold, my child
Don’t fret about the storm, my child
Think of dawn and dream, my child
Soft, and close your eyes.

Close your eyes: you’re safe, my child
Nothing here can hurt you
Whether waking or asleep
I shall not desert you.

Even as you grow and fly
Where I cannot guide you
He who gives the rauk its wings
Still will stay beside you.

The moon may sink behind the clouds
The rauk may fall before it flies

Don’t wish upon the moon, my child
Don’t wish upon the rauk, my child
Trust the One who made you, child
Soft, and close your eyes.


More of this

Annotations on Soft, and Close Your Eyes

More songs


See a typo? Is my rhythm off? Let me know!

Add to the banter

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.